Corporate Governance

Development History

1. Founded in 1968, the Neighbourhood Advice-Action Council had a sound structure of governance, with The Rev. Dr. James M. N. CHÍEN as the chairman, and an executive committee composed of professionals from all walks of life, as well as independent financial audits carried out by auditors. In 1992, the Council registered as a company limited by guarantee in accordance with the Hong Kong Companies Ordinance (Cap 32) and established its Memorandum and Articles of Association, membership system, decision-making and supervisory units, laying a solid foundation to corporate governance. As the Hong Kong Companies Ordinance (Cap 622) took effect in 2014, the Council has taken appropriate action accordingly. The revisions for the Memorandum and Articles of Association were complete in 2015, while the “Members and Committee Members’ Handbook” detailing the rights and responsibilities was published in the same year.


2. Since 1992, the Council has registered as a tax-exempt charity under section 88 of the Inland Revenue Ordinance.


3. To further strengthen corporate governance, the Council formed a “Task Force on Corporate Governance and Board of Directors Function” in 2011 to provide direction to corporate governance and accountability. The task force was transformed into a standing committee in 2015.


4. Since 1 July 2014, the Council abided by the “Best Practice Manual” of the Social Welfare Department to enhance its governance guidelines in three categories such as financial management, human resource management and corporate governance and accountability.


5. To strengthen the corporate governance of our Council and follows the relevant guidelines, the Information on the Best Practice Manual Guide for The Neighbourhood Advice Council (Traditional Chinese Version only) has been compiled in 2019. It has been endorsed by the Executive Committee and has been published in NAAC Website for staff and the public disclosure.

Governance Structure and Objectives

  1. The highest governing structure of the Council is the Annual General Meeting, General Meeting of Members’ Representatives and the Executive Committee (under which has 10 sub-committees, including Management Sub-Committee, Budget and Financial Sub-Committee, Internal Audit Sub-Committee, etc.). Not depending on the management level, these bodies aim to ensure sound corporate governance through providing strategic guidance, ensuring abidance to ordinances, proper financial management, keeping accountability to donors, service users, staff, stakeholders, etc., and handling benefits or related parties with fair judgment while balancing the demands of all parties.
     

  2. The Executive Director is appointed by the Executive Committee to manage the Council and to lead the 5 central administrative divisions (Budget and Finance Division, Human Resources Division, Administrative Division, Internal Audit Division and Information Technology Division) and the 9 service divisions (Family and Children Welfare Service Division, Youth Service Division, Elderly Service Division, Rehabilitation Service Division, Community Development Division, Mainland Service, Education Service Division, Health Care Service Division and Social Enterprise Division. Together with senior staff in assistance to the Executive Director, effective communication, smooth operation, proper supervision and excellent service are ensured.

©2018 by The Neighbourhood Advice-Action Council.

機構管治

歷程

1. 鄰舍輔導會1968年創會時已有完整管治架構,由錢明年博士任主席及多個專才組成執行委員會,並由核數師獨立核數。本會在1992年註冊成為擔保有限公司,根據香港法例32章《公司條例》建立了《組織章程大綱及細則》,確立會員制度,訂定決策和監管單位,為管治打下基礎。香港法例622章《公司條例》在2014年生效,本會遂進行相應的改動。本會最新修訂的《組織章程大綱及細則》於2015年完成,同年出版的《會員及委員手冊》列明會員和委員的權利與責任。


2. 由1992年起,本會已在《稅務條例》第88條下成為獲豁免繳稅的慈善機構。


3. 本會為了進一步強化機構管治,於2011年成立「機構管治及董事會職能專責小組」,訂定機構管治及問責的方向;並在2015年將小組改為常設委員會。


4. 本會於2014年7月1日起按社會福利署推出的《最佳執行指引》行事,指引分為財務管理、人力資源管理和機構管治與問責3個範疇,以提升本會的管治水平。

5. 為強化機構管治及遵循有關的指引,本會於2019年現輯錄成《最佳執行指引》資料册,經執行委員會通過,並刊載至本會網站,讓員工及公眾人士知悉。

管治架構及目標

  1. 本會最高管治架構是周年會員大會、會員代表大會、執行委員會(下設管理委員會、預算及財務委員會、內部稽核委員會等10個附屬委員會),獨立於管理層,給予策略性指導,確保管理層能遵守法例,具備制度,適當理財,對資助者、服務使用者、員工、持份者等,以問責及公平的態度去處理有關人士的利益,平衡各方的要求,盼望達致良好管治的效果。
     

  2. 總幹事由執行委員會任命去管理本會,領導5個中央行政部門(會計及財務部、人力資源部、行政部、內部稽核部和資訊科技部)和9個服務部門(家庭及兒童福利服務部、青少年服務部、安老服務部、康復服務部、社區發展部、內地服務部、教育服務部、醫療衞生服務部及社會企業部),而高級職員則協助總幹事,確保有效溝通、運作暢順、監控得宜、服務優質。

©2018 by The Neighbourhood Advice-Action Council.